Another great feature of Microsoft Dynamics CRM is the ability to Create and Share Views. In this post we are going to look at how we can do this and also how to remove them when they are no longer required.
Once you have created the parameters of your Advanced Find, click on Save As and name your view.
The saved View is now available for you to select from My Views from the View Dropdown menu within the record or alternatively by clicking on saved views in Advanced Find.
To share the entire view you must select Saved Views within Advanced Find, this usually bring up your Active Saved Views.
Note: By selecting the drop down option of saved views, it enables you to choose from the different views that are available.
To Share a particular view or update user preferences, highlight the view and select share.
A window appears that enables you to decide which other user(s) you would like to share the view with and what control they will have.
- Read: Will allow the user to only read the view. Must be selected for the view to be shared.
- Write: Enables criteria of the view to changed
- Delete: User is able to delete the view. Once deleted by any user, the view is no longer available for user to view
- Append: Not available for selection
- Assign: Allows users to change the ownership of the view
- Share: Allows the user to share view with other CRM Users/Team
The View will now be available for all users to access through My Views from the record, it was created for.
Once CRM users are familiar with the sharing of Views in CRM they may decide to share multiple views, which in some cases you may not require, thereby dramatically increasing the list of your views. Furthermore they may be some views that you no longer require.
Regardless of the access rights you have been granted, you are able to deactivate a view, so it no longer shows up on your list. This will not affect other users of the same view.
To deactivate the shared view you need to go back into Advanced Find > Saved Views, select the shared view that you want to deactivate and select deactivate.
Once a view has been deactivated, it can also re-activated, therefore no need to worry about getting access to the View again.
To re-activate a View go into Advanced Find>Saved Views on the drop down select the inactivate view option that you require (i.e. to reactivate a Shared View select Inactive Views Shared with Me). This will bring up all inactive views, select the View and click Activate.
Using shared views can assist in sharing information and prevent duplication of effort.
If you require any further assistance with Dynamics CRM (all versions) contact the CRM experts at Focus.